In The Now

It’s been 37 years since I graduated from high school. I’ve taken courses since then and finished many Bible studies.  I was blessed to get a job about 25 years ago in Medical Transcription through which I was trained on the job. Now because of all the changes related to health care, we’re being required to be registered and certified. While studying with a friend close to my age who has been in this profession about as long as I have, she finds herself in the same predicament. To say I’m intimidated is an understatement! We’re not only finding that we were taught wrong, we’re seeing we have to unlearn years and years of the way we’ve done things and learn…and put into practice the “new” way (for us), bringing ourselves up to the standard while preparing for the tests.

Who would have thought at this age I’d find myself in this position, finding out the way I’ve always done things isn’t necessarily wrong, it’s just not the standard. I’m not “up to code”! It’s daunting. What’s even funnier is that I’m considered one of the best Transcriptionists in our area…but that’s because no one knows the standards! As long as there are no big mistakes and you produce that becomes enough. That’s not a bad thing, it’s just that it could be better!

While feeling old, not so smart and extremely intimidated and threatened because I honestly don’t know how I can possibly find time to re-educate and retain what I learn, study, test, etc…on top of everything else in my life. I talked to God about it and went to bed last night with my mind reeling.

I picked up a book I’m reading (LOADED WITH BENEFITS) this morning that I’m using for a devotional and it was as if the Lord jumped off the page and put Himself smack-dab in the midst of my present concerns. Isaiah 46:4~ “Even to your old age I am the same; and even to your graying years I shall bear you. I have done it and I shall carry you, and I shall bear you and I shall deliver you.”~

How absolutely perfect. I’m tearing up as I write this. I asked Him to forgive me because in the moment of all these changes and my fears, I forgot what…WHO…will get me through. I’m almost 55. I’ve never been in a place like this so these aren’t my usual fears and doubts. This is a whole new place and God knew that…even before I had figured that out!

He ministered to me through this book at this time without my begging and pleading. He knew exactly what I would need in this season of my life and He provided. I’m telling you this to say He is relevant. He is timely. He is the answer.

Our ultimate resource is God Himself. He will show us He’s with us and give us exactly what we need. Pick Him up. Seek Him and let Him blow your mind with how perfectly on time He is. There simply is no comfort and reassurance like our God. I’m relishing in that truth this morning and this ole gal is grateful!

Leave a Reply

