Staying Orange in a Red World

I’m a huge University of Tennessee fan (go VOLS!) and I live in Alabama. See my problem? I have a hard time during football season to say the least! I’ve lived here over 25 years and I can honestly say I’ve remained true to my Vols. When I buy flowers, yard decorations, anything for my office it has to be orange.  Just little pieces of home everywhere to keep myself motivated and show everyone I’m not backing down.  There have been many who’ve tried to convert me and get me to renounce my loyalty to no avail. I’ve stood firm and their insistances have only made me more determined not to conform regardless of all the National titles, the whoopins we’ve suffered. I’m still a Vols fan. I’m still proudly displaying my loyalty to my beloved team.

My plight made me think of being a Christian AND LIVING LIKE ONE in this world. Many people go to church but when they step out of Sunday and into their Monday you couldn’t tell it.

We want to be real and live God-honoring lives but let’s face it, sometimes it’s hard. Sometimes we think we need to loosen a little bit. I mean maybe we’d have more friends, more fun and fit in a little easier if we acted like everyone else. Sometimes I think it would be easier just to shut up and try to blend in.

What about you? Do you hide your Christianity? Do you live like everyone else, talk like everyone else? The Bible…you know that book we’re supposed to live by, pattern our lives after, says we’re supposed to be different. God says we’re a “peculiar people”, chosen for HIS good pleasure. Hmmmm.

I want to stand strong for God and my love for Him as I support my favorite football team.  I want to be as faithful to God (more so actually) as I am to the Vols.  I’ve decided you can’t talk me out of my decision on either. Go ahead and try. It may not be easy to honor my decision sometimes but I’ll do my best.

I’m not conforming; I’m being transformed into the likeness of Jesus. I think all of us could use a big dose of boldness and live like we mean it. Our world needs more of God, His love and His truth.

I’m staying orange…what about you? 

Leave a Reply

